Home Open Account Help 288 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > Somedays, it only gets Better!

Date: 11/11/12 03:47
Somedays, it only gets Better!
Author: rrartist

I'll start my story on Thursday afternoon with BNSF train Z-PTLCHC, BNSF #7788. My son ran this train down from the Twin Cities to La Crosse and I thought the numbers were kind of neat as 77 was the year I graduated and 88 was the year my son was born! Enough of the silly stuff and on to Saturday. It was warm for November, but also very cloudy / hazy along the Mississippi River. CP train #811 started the day with the BNSF #9325 shown here at Donehower West. CP train #331 came out of Marquette Iowa early this morning and had a nice pair of Blue / Yellow EMDs leading the CP #8700. Hang on there is more to follow!

Date: 11/11/12 03:54
Re: Somedays, it only gets Better!

I followed the #331 towards Winona MN where it met a CP #810, so I reversed my course and headed back to La Crosse. As I waited on the coal load, I spied this ex-Milwaukee Road, CP #4508 in pretty fresh CP Red. BNSF #9792 leads the coal buckets towards Portage this morning. Hey! What's that ball of fire in the sky?? The sun was just breaking thru as the train passed. The sun broke through just in time for CP train H-19 to depart with the ICE #6213. Hold on, it IS going to get better!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/11/12 18:20 by rrartist.

Date: 11/11/12 04:00

As the title suggests, somedays it only gets better, case in point, CP train #270! Running as the Soo Line SD60 #6026 plus in sweet early afternoon sun, yes sir, the race was on! The top image has #270 crossing the Root River just south the La Crescent MN. The middle image has the train train passing thru the small town of Brownsville MN and last lastly on the Reno Dike in Reno MN.

Date: 11/11/12 04:08