Home Open Account Help 331 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > Ties verses rail

Date: 12/15/12 08:25
Ties verses rail
Author: shortlineboss

If you need to upgrade rail and change ties, which do you do first. Tie condition is fair and there is not a problem with track time.

Mike Root
Madras, OR

Date: 12/15/12 08:28
Re: Ties versus rail
Author: toledopatch

shortlineboss Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> If you need to upgrade rail and change ties, which
> do you do first. Tie condition is fair and there
> is not a problem with track time.

I'm not an expert on this, but logic tells me that rail would be replaced first, because replacing rail probably causes at least some wear on the ties, but replacing ties shouldn't have any effect at all on rail life.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 12/15/12 08:28 by toledopatch.

Date: 12/15/12 08:47
Author: rehunn

Ties first, bad ties contribute nearly immediately to surface bend and other rail issues, also FRA track
condition is based on bad ties per length.

Date: 12/15/12 08:58
Author: MP555

If tie condition is fair and you have a plan to do both ties and rail in a timely manner, I would go for rail first. That way, you're not spiking brand new ties only to pull the the spikes, plug the holes and re-spike when the rail gets changed.

Date: 12/15/12 11:12
Author: xrds72

MP555 has the best sequence for most situations. Unless there is some other compelling reason to do the ties first (really bad tie condition for example), you don't want to have to respike new ties. Since as part of the relay operation you should be adzing the ties to ensure a good flat surface for the new and probably larger tie plate, you also don't want to adze new ties.