Home Open Account Help 245 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > Random Nampa (Idaho)

Date: 08/28/15 21:34
Random Nampa (Idaho)
Author: cchan006

A day after chasing Idaho Northern & Pacific's Payette River Flyer and Thunder Mountain Line excursion trains, I checked out the action on Union Pacific's Huntington Subdivision from Nampa Yard and west. This was new territory for me, so before heading to dinner the night before, I studied maps, drove around, and found the yard, which was going to be my starting point. I didn't pack the Altamont Press Pacific Northwest Timetable in my luggage, so I was sort of foaming blind. I set my Uniden scanner to scan all known UP frequencies I programmed, then headed to the yard after breakfast on Monday and just listened.

First thing I heard was a K5LLA from UP 8919 West, which was a Hinkle bound manifest. The train had just arrived into Nampa and was setting out cars. After that, I saw a pair of SD60Ms switching cars at the west end of the yard. They called themselves "844" or "A44" not sure which, but UP Dispatcher 3 called them the "44 local" later.

I drove around both sides of the yard to check out angles, and just as I was about to settle down, UP 2498 (the 44 local) toned up DS 3, and told him he was ready to go and had work to do at Carnation, Caldwell, Parma, and at Ontario. I quickly looked at the map and determined that he was departing west, so I decided to chase this guy since UP 8919 wasn't going anywhere.

First clip is at Carnation, which is located between Nampa and Caldwell. The crew had just finished doing a set out, and is departing for Caldwell.

Second clip is at Caldwell, where they did another set out and a one car pick up. They are going back to their train in the clip.