Home Open Account Help 304 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > What is the best routing?

Date: 05/03/16 22:27
What is the best routing?
Author: HogheadMike

So, I want to hear some opinions from some of you out there that know a thing or two about the various railroad routings between Chicago and the Pacific Northwest (Portland & Seattle)  I am an engineer out of Pocatello and recently on a trip I got into a discussion about the various routings that UP and BNSF has between these points.  I believe that the UP routing through Wyoming and over the OSL is the shortest routing and with the fewest grades.  I believe that it also has the most 70mph track out of the various routings.  Is this true?   What are the pros and cons of the UP/NP/GN/CP?  I believe I heard at one time that the the former Milwaukee actually had the best routing.  I'd like to know more on the subject in the interest of knowing how competitive our line sits relative to the other routings.  Sorry, stupid question.  Does anyone want to enlighten me?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/03/16 22:29 by HogheadMike.

Date: 05/04/16 01:55
Re: What is the best routing?
Author: CA_Sou_MA_Agent

If this doesn't answer most of your questions, I don't know what will!

http://www.lexingtongroup.org/downloads/Lexington%20Grade%20Profiles.pdf

Date: 05/04/16 03:04
Author: funnelfan

For lowest grades, you looking at BNSF's ex-GN over the Rockies to Spokane and then down through Pasco and the Columbia River Gorge. UP's route has always been troubled by the Blue Mountains of northeast Oregon. BNSF can bring a loaded grain train west with just three modern locomotives, UP...not so much!  That's why BNSF is a major player in the grain export business in the PNW, but most of the UP export grain moves over the CP's Crowsnest Pass.

Ted Curphey
Ontario, OR

Date: 05/04/16 04:26
Author: Indiana_Trainman