Home Open Account Help 375 users online

Steam & Excursion > How Does This Signal Pickup Work?

Date: 07/05/15 08:03
How Does This Signal Pickup Work?
Author: filmteknik

Obviously each "thing" is a coil which picks up the magnetic field from the rails for ATC or cab signals or whatever.  My question is how is there anything to pick up at that location, under a steam locomotive tender.  Wouldn't the wheels fore and aft short out the signal before it ever got to this point?  I thought these things have to be positioned in front of the first axle. I'm curious.

Date: 07/05/15 08:30
Re: How Does This Signal Pickup Work?
Author: SR_Krause

Disclaimer: I'm an electrical engineer who isn't at all familiar with the details of RR magnetic pickup signal systems. However...... Being an engineer, that won't stop me from speculating and hoping that it uncloaks someone to correct me!

What locomotive is this? Historically, mag pickup systems like this were specific to the RR signal system, there isn't a standard I'm aware of.

The two applications I'm aware of are ATS type applications, where you have an on/off type signal at a specific control point, and cab signaling such as was found on the Pennsylvania lines.

In the photo, I'm seeing 4 transducers, two set at about the rail, and two inboard of the rail.

Position of the wheels, etc. is more or less irrelevant. These coils are going to each produce a change of signal when the ambient magnetic field changes around them. The tender, wheels, and rails are all going to remain more-or-less the same, so the signal from each of these transducers is going to remain the same until something in the magnetic environment changes.

Such as:
- Switch guard rails, frogs, points (a source of signal noise that has to be ignored)
- A device between the rails that is producing a strong magnetic field (part of the signalling system)