Home Open Account Help 323 users online

Steam & Excursion > "Southern Pacific" versus "Southern Pacific Lines"on steam

Pages:  [ 1 ][ 2 ] [ Next ]
Current Page:1 of 2

Date: 10/04/15 20:07
"Southern Pacific" versus "Southern Pacific Lines"on steam
Author: superfleet

I have to admit I am a novice when it comes to Southern Pacific steam, I have noticed that some SP steam loco tenders said "Southern Pacific Lines" and others showed up as simply "Southern Pacific".  4-6-2 $2472 for example is lettered with the full "Southern Pacific Lines" name, can someone tell me in a nutshell when the SP used the "Lines" moniker versus when they used the simple "Southern Pacific"?

thanks,

Dan

Date: 10/04/15 20:49
Re: "Southern Pacific" versus "Southern Pacific Lines"on steam
Author: BoilingMan

I thinks "Lines" was dropped around 1946. At the same time the much larger lettering was used on the tenders.
SR

Date: 10/04/15 20:53
Author: MojaveBill

You are right, it was 1946...

Bill Deaver
Tehachapi, CA

Date: 10/04/15 21:25

Was there a time BEFORE "Lines"? I've never thought about it until now, but was Lines actually ADDED at some point? Perhaps when the SP name pushed out the CP name? That might give some meaning to why they used the plural "Lines".
SR

Or maybe I'm over thinking this... (No way!)

Date: 10/05/15 03:32
Author: LoggerHogger

Yes, indeed, it was simply "Southern Pacific" before it became "Southern Pacific Lines" as we see here.

Martin

Date: 10/05/15 03:40

Thanks everyone, so, was it "Southern Pacific", then "Southern Pacific Lines", then back to "Southern Pacific?  What year(s) did it change, and did they finish out the steam era as "Southern Pacific"?  

Dan

Date: 10/05/15 05:03

Yes. And then SP 'till the end.
SR

Date: 10/05/15 05:08

LoggerHogger Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Yes, indeed, it was simply "Southern Pacific"
> before it became "Southern Pacific Lines" as we
> see here.
>
> Martin

Ah, I kinda thought so.