Home Open Account Help 365 users online

Steam & Excursion > Paintings copywrite and 611? What's the real law?

Pages:  [ 1 ][ 2 ] [ Next ]
Current Page:1 of 2

Date: 02/06/16 13:14
Paintings copywrite and 611? What's the real law?
Author: steam290

I am an artist, and my main medium is oil paint. I have been painting trains for years and my most beloved subject is of course, the steam locomotive. Of all the locomotives past and present, I have painted the N&W class J more than any of them. Second on the list is probably the NYC hudson and third would be the NKP berkshire.
After 611's rebuilding, they have a clause on their website that states: "The guidelines for using our logos and the likeness and image of the Norfolk & Western Class J 611 can be used to determine if you should gain permission from the Museum before using a Museum-owned logo or the image of the Class J or Class J 611 locomotive in any medium or form."

Does this mean, I can't paint the class J any more, or sell any more prints of the class J without basically paying the Museum? What if the image LOOKS like a J but has no identifiable markings such as name or number by which to identify it as being specifically an N&W class J? I'm trying to make a go as a "starving artist" and I could certainly do without any lawsuits that might result from me painting steam engines that resemble the J. Can someone really copyright the look of an object? If that's the case, what's to keep people from copyrighting every steam engine out there to the point that only made up steam engines can be the subject of art?

I've done a painting which I will post below. While it is clearly a painting of N&W steam power, there are no identifiable markings as such... Am I legally not allowed to sell this painting?

Date: 02/06/16 13:39
Re: Paintings copywrite and 611? What's the real law?
Author: wcamp1472

Would make an interesting court case ---- like "you can't make pictures of my stuf, without paying me".