Home Open Account Help 298 users online

Steam & Excursion > Chasing The J (N&W 611 & The Roanoker)

Date: 04/23/16 21:46
Chasing The J (N&W 611 & The Roanoker)
Author: cchan006

There's something irresistible about mainline steam.

I visited North Carolina and Virginia this weekend specifically to chase the Norfolk & Western 4-8-4 #611 between Greensboro, NC and Roanoke, VA. It's an unfamiliar territory for this Californian, so I studied maps in advance and made a quick scouting trip in the Greensboro area before the chase Saturday.

Locations covered in the first video:

- The Roanoker & N&W 611 about 1/2 mile out of Greensboro Amtrak Station.
- Signal cantilevers short on time at Reidsville.
- Between Ruffin and Pelham.
- Hunter St. in Danville (Virginia).
- Entire train is shown at Gretna.
- Tall trestle near Hurt.
- NS local job meeting the 611 at Roanoke. Entire train is shown.

There's a caboose on display near the ROW at Ruffin, but I skipped it since it takes time to reach Hwy 29 from downtown Reidsville and I was afraid the train would be too close. As Foamer Karma would have it, I got a moving caboose instead at Roanoke!

- N&W 611 waiting to depart at Greensboro.
- Moon was out.

(more next)

You must be a registered subscriber to watch videos. Join Today!

Date: 04/23/16 22:12
Re: Chasing The J (N&W 611 & The Roanoker)
Author: cchan006

The second video is more or less random, and has a couple of clips from the chase back to Greensboro in the afternoon.

- Past Hurt, at Hwy 29. 611 is now on the ex-Virginian tracks, heading to Roanoke.
- The Roanoker is shoving to a station stop at Roanoke. Nice stack talk, even in slow motion.
- NS Light engine move past the 611 and the train.
- The Roanoker taking the east leg of the wye after turning the train around - at Roanoke.
- Bridge across Dan River at Danville. Train is heading back to Greensboro.
- Bridge across Hwy 29 near Ruffin (heading to Greensboro).
- Brown Summit (entire train is shown again).