Home Open Account Help 357 users online

Steam & Excursion > Steam Throttle Questions

Date: 01/18/17 04:09
Steam Throttle Questions
Author: RRBadTrack

I have limited knowledge of steam locomotive mechanics so please bear with me on what could be viewed as "Stupid Questions". However, I have a good need to know the answers.

First. If the throttle in the locomotive cab is opened, does the actual throttle valve want to stay in the open position, or does steam pressure work against it to close the valve?
I would assume that the notches on a throttle quadrant are there to lock the throttle in place in order to counteract the natural tendency for steam pressure to want to close the valve.

Second. If an engine is working full throttle, and working very hard, would a sudden and rapid closure of the throttle cause damage to the engine?
I know this was done for commuter operations and that the fireman was anticipating the rapid throttle changes and ready to make any necessary changes. The question in this case refers to what would result if the throttle was closed abruptly and unexpectedly under heavy load.

Thanks!
R.R. Conway

Date: 01/18/17 07:08
Re: Steam Throttle Questions
Author: Spikes

Are there 2 valves; steam enters from above and below, equalizing pressure so throttle holds in any position? see pic.

Date: 01/18/17 08:57
Author: BAB

I think its to help open the larger valve as without it throttle pressure would make it hard to start opeining and then also holding it open. Notice the diffrence in size and where the steam acts upon it.
-------------------------------------------------------
> Are there 2 valves; steam enters from above and
> below, equalizing pressure so throttle holds in
> any position? see pic.

Date: 01/18/17 09:08
Author: YankeeDog

On a mutiple valve throttle, the valves are opened by a cam which opens various valves as the throttle is opened and disengage when the throttle is closed.

Date: 01/18/17 09:44
Author: HotWater