Home Open Account Help 246 users online

Nostalgia & History > Jasper, Oregon 1953 (none of this here now)

Date: 06/04/08 15:41
Jasper, Oregon 1953 (none of this here now)
Author: jdb

Jasper, Oregon in 1953. Taken from the east approach of the Jasper bridge, looking south. At the far end is the Hills Creek Store. Out of sight at the base of the fir tree that is directly behind the "76" sign is the Fir Tree Cafe. The "76" sign is on the Jasper Garage. I grew up in the Jasper Store that my folks owned. Two of our customes worked for the SP at Natron. Daughters of one, Mr. Parr, babysat me when I was five or six. The other was Mr. Bristow, great grandson of the first settler in the southern end of the Willamette Valley. Mr. Harmsworth owned the Jasper Garage and I graduated from Pleasant Hill High School with one of his daughters, Francis. Mr. Bristow had a son, Melvin. Mel and Francis were married after graduation and Mel went to work for the SP at Oakridge. He retired at Roseville when the UP took over. He was Division Engineer. By the time I could count money and look over the counter in the store I was cashing the two mens SP paychecks when they paid their monthly tab for groceries. The green phone booth on the porch of the store was the first dial phone south of Springfield. Until it was installed the phones were "Farmers Lines" that were 10 party lines. When the phone company brought service into the area it was by a cable that was strung on the SP poles along the track. The railroad is a couple hundred feet behind the store and the line to the pay phone was strung across our property. (we got dial phone service immediately after the pay phone) This phone was put in during the construction of the Lookout Point Dam and the project manager used to drive down here and use the pay phone for hours at a time. (closest dial phone to the construction) Between the Jasper Store and the Jasper Garage is Hadley Lane. It is the only thing left today in this pic. For you hog