Home Open Account Help 356 users online

European Railroad Discussion > DB - passenger - 1972

Date: 08/30/14 06:51
DB - passenger - 1972
Author: MEKoch

With this final installment I offer an assortment of passenger equipment. I was a poor student in 1972 and could not afford to ride the fine "Inter City" trains, so my travels were retricted to locals and slower operations. But in many ways that was good, because I saw real operations of every day trains on the DB.

1: These RDC diesel trains operated north to Sylt & Kiel. I believe they were four cars total. Picture is at Hamburg-Altona. Was there only one power car, or one at each end? This pic has two sets MUed.

2: Hamburg-Altona

3: A more modern RDC set at Trier

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/30/14 06:53 by MEKoch.

Date: 08/30/14 06:58
Re: DB - passenger - 1972

4 & 5: Sorry for the poor quality of the photos. The RDC cars were so much fun to ride. It was truly a bus on rails. Two wheel trucks. You entered at the front. The operator took your fare. Then off you would go on rural branch lines at 30-40 miles per hour. Stations were only paved roads quite often. They would stop and let people off and on. People had gone shopping and running their errands. The driver had a regular transmission to shift gears as the car accelerated.

Do these operations still exist in rural Germany?

Date: 08/30/14 07:04

6: This 2nd class coach is 37-203 used in local passenger service. I notice its truck design. Three single axles? Can someone describe how this worked?

7: Here is a typical mixed class coach

8: DB offered small auto train services. From Hamburg-Altona to Sylt. They simply added auto carriers on to the rear of a passenger train. There were other destinations as well. Do they still do this?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/30/14 07:06 by MEKoch.

Date: 08/30/14 07:12

9: Buffetraum. Perhaps this buffet style allowed them to save money on the operation, while attracting more passengers to the car.