Home Open Account Help 253 users online

Railroaders' Nostalgia > One Of The Boys

Date: 02/05/16 18:18
One Of The Boys
Author: Railbaron

I hired out very young, which wasn't that unusual in the early 70's. My 18th birthday was at the end of May 1972, I graduated high school in early June 1972, and by early September 1972 I was making student trips for the SP finally getting my official seniority date of September 30, 1972. Over the 42 years, 9 months I worked for SP, and then UP, I had many really neat things occur along with a few really bad things happen. But one of earliest neat things, in fact the earliest thing, that happened that meant a lot to me happened on one of my student trips.

​I had made a few trips on jobs out of San Francisco and San Jose and even back then crews would talk about students. One of the jobs I worked on my student trips was the Gilroy Local out of San Jose. It went to work at 0700 and worked from San Jose to Gilroy and back. Although it would be hard to believe today, especially when you look at the lack of industries today, the job worked 14 hours a day (the 12 hour law came in later). The crew had a lot of fun ribbing me about my "hourly" rate - I made $12.70 per day regardless of hours worked so I wasn't even making $1 per hour. To me it was priceless because I was doing what I wanted to do.

​I no longer remember who the engineer was or who the conductor was but the brakemen on the job were Mike Balin and Freddy DeWald; they treated me awesome. They didn't cut me any slack, made me work, and if I screwed up they let me know it. But they also taught me more than probably any of the other crews I was with as a student. They also really made me feel like "one of the brothers". For my part I was always gungho and wanted to learn and do good. I kept my mouth shut but my eyes and ears open and did what I was told to do; the more freedom they gave me the more I did.