Home Open Account Help 271 users online

Railroaders' Nostalgia > An Explosion on the "Georgetown."

Date: 08/18/16 14:28
An Explosion on the "Georgetown."
Author: tehachcond

Back in 2006, I retired after 40 years in train service with the Southern Pacific/Union Pacific.  I worked my entire career in the Los Angeles area.  In the spring of 2007, we moved to Castle Rock, Colorado, and in a moment of weakness, I let myself get talked into hiring out with the Georgetown Loop Railroad.  For those of you unfamiliar with this rail road, it operates about three miles of former Colorado and Southern narrow gauge track in Clear Creek Canyon, east of Denver.  Featured, is the "High" bridge which makes up part of the loop.  I worked as a conductor/brakeman/fireman and trainer.  The primary power for the railroad was # 12, a little 2-6-2.
   On the day in question, it was the 4th of July.  The plans were to operate an employee friends and family trip that evening to view the town of Georgetown's fireworks display from the high bridge.  I was scheduled to work the special as a brakeman.
   Since there was quite a time interval between the last regular run of the day and the special, the fire had been killed.
   When came time to get steam back up, there were about five of us at the Silver Plume shop.  GLRR policy was that there needed to be someone in the cab of the 12 whenever a fire was lit.  All of us that were qualified firemen were taking turns watching her as the steam slowly built back up.  We were allowed to leave the cab for brief periods.
   When I was on fire watch, I felt the need to use the facilities.  Before I got off, I checked the fire and the water, and everything was as it should be.  The 12 was contentedly singing to herself.  When I walked into the office and closed the door behind; KABOOM!!, there was an explosion strong enough to rattle the shop windows!