Home Open Account Help 284 users online

Eastern Railroad Discussion > B&O- Wheeling Pittsburgh Sub - The Pike

Pages:  [ 1 ][ 2 ] [ Next ]
Current Page:1 of 2

Date: 09/24/08 12:56
B&O- Wheeling Pittsburgh Sub - The Pike
Author: rchgck

Hello all,

I am new to Trainorders but have been a fan of the W&P and railroads in Washington, PA since I was a kid.

I have walked most of the W&P and the Chartiers Branch of the PRR and I grew up in Tylerdale.

I used to practice pee wee football at Ramage field which was near Washington Steel and on the Tylerdale Connecting Railroad.

There used to be Chessie and Conrail trains a few times a week.

I have been researching both lines for a few years now and have tried to document through video what is left of activity in Washington.

You can search youtube for AVR-3 or my user name, rchgck.

Many of these are on what is left of the Tylerdale connecting railroad. There is a remediation cleanup going on near Jessop Steel for the old Molycorp plant. The contaminated soil is being shipped by rail. There has been more activity in the last year than since the line was severed to Wheeling in 85. Things are starting to wind down so I wanted to get as much documented as I could before the trains became shorter and less frequent.

Does anyone have photos of the W&P or the Chartiers Branch in Washington, Tylerdale, Wheeling or anywhere for that matter from the 60's, 70's and 80's that they would be willing to share here or email?

I am researching to eventually create in Microsoft Train Simulator and need as much reference info as I can get.

The photos of the tunnels were great. I walked/photographed all of them back in the spring. Spooky stuff. I have found many news paper articles since the turn of the century depicting many deaths and accidents those tunnels over the years. If there are such as thing as ghosts, that is where they would be!

The B&O Station in Washington has been restored and is now the Washington County Tourism Offices.