Home Open Account Help 337 users online

Eastern Railroad Discussion > Extreme Trains Needs a Make Over

Pages:  [ 1 ][ 2 ] [ Next ]
Current Page:1 of 2

Date: 12/17/08 11:12
Extreme Trains Needs a Make Over
Author: jch9596

You know, I love trains, railroads and railfanning. I'm a photographer and have worked in TV news and do stills on the side. And I can say that the show is almost unwatchable for me. In fact, I think it needs a make over. Here's why --

1.) The host needs two or three chill pills. Not every stand up he shoots has to have him walking like an idiot somewhere. Slow down, hell, stop every now and then, and let us take in the scene.

2.) Last nights show bogged down when he went into this long thing on clearing snow off a spot of land where the railroad USED to go through. Yeah, he made his point about how tough it was back then about ten different times in five different ways. Didn't need to see him pretending to dig six foot of snow.

3.) Slow down on the sped up video. Using this technique once or twice is nice for an hour long show, but the editors over use it.

4.) Every once in a while, we'd like to see a train move past a camera which has been placed on a tripod level. We'd like to see most if not all of the train as time permits, at it's own speed. These wacky unlevel, hey-maybe-I-could-produce-music-videos shots are fine when used a few times through the show. But not every single time!

There is more but ths is all I can think of at the moment.

Joe H.

Date: 12/17/08 11:17
Re: Extreme Trains Needs a Make Over
Author: csx6574

While I agree with most of that (maybe not as enthusiastically), my big thing about last night was the Steamtown thing again. I don't care about Steamtown. I wanted to see Chicago to Seattle, not Scranton. We went from Cascade Tunnel to Steamtown to Seattle in 5 minutes. Calm the host down a tad, tie his hands down and drop Steamtown from every episode...

Al Moran,
The SD80MACKing

Date: 12/17/08 11:32