Home Open Account Help 314 users online

Model Railroading > Model RR photography question

Date: 12/19/06 05:33
Model RR photography question
Author: Winks

This could be posted on the Electronics forum, but I know you folks all take photos of your railroads, and I have seen some good ones. I've been trying to get some good, clear shots, but they always seem to come out blurry, except for a small area.

I'm using a Canon Dig Rebel with a 28-105 f/3.5-4.5 USM lens. Do I need a lens with a smaller f-stop, or is there a technique I am missing?

Thank you in advance for any suggestions, and Merry Christmas.

Date: 12/19/06 06:02
Re: Model RR photography question
Author: WrongWayMurphy

I am a bad photographer, but I can tell you this, take it off
auto exposure, put camera on a tripod, set aperature to lowest
setting which will lengthen the shutter speed, use a cable release
to take the pic (otherwise pressing the shutter will cause the
tripod to shake just a tad). This will increase the depth of field
making the complete picture in focus.

Date: 12/19/06 07:21
Author: stivmac