Home Open Account Help 266 users online

Model Railroading > Running Brass Passenger Cars

Date: 10/18/14 06:49
Running Brass Passenger Cars
Author: BAB

Ok not long ago a fellow commented no brass cars are allowed to run on my layout. WHY??? I am rather new to running smaller model trains as never had a layout before now, its ON30 in progress. All of my experience is in larger scale, 1 1/2". The reason for my question is I just tried out my first brass passenger car a PSC full baggage car that I converted from ON3 to ON30. It pulls and tracks just fine, I installed San Juan evo Sharon couplers and there ON30 passenger trucks and am pulling it with a K27 Mountain Models engine. Given I don't have any grades I can run on yet, web site for my railroad is, DRGW1940 but soon will have by next spring. Its also further along on the main level at this point.
Boyd in Chiloquin Oregon

Date: 10/18/14 08:37
Re: Running Brass Passenger Cars
Author: nicknack

Brass cars take more time to adjust, not just the frame itself, but since the trucks too are assembled they must be looked at to make sure they are square. A friend had a brass CZ train that was excellent at finding fault with any trackwork, and he insisted on backing them into the station with Grande F's, and then switching them out for a silver set of CB&Q E's.

Date: 10/18/14 11:40
Author: superchief73

I pull a consist of 9 Brass cars with no problem. Yes they need adjusting but so do plastic models. I say Run those Brass cars!

Javier Cervantes
Castle Rock , CO

Date: 10/19/14 05:19
Author: ATSF3751

I refit brass passenger cars mostly with Walther's trucks. Sometimes I replace the entire underbody as well with either a Walther's or Rapido product. I got tired of constantly trying to remedy shorts, plus, I like to buy older brass passenger cars and replace the underbodies and trucks to upgrade the appearance to current standards.

Date: 10/19/14 07:56