Home Open Account Help 200 users online

Model Railroading > Adding sound to On30 2-8-0. DIY tips?

Date: 12/14/14 17:39
Adding sound to On30 2-8-0. DIY tips?
Author: SCspotter

Hey modelers, I'm an avid modeler of HO but wanted to dip a little bit into On30. Not much as I don't have a club to run any of it at. (My HO club only has standard gauge HO and HOn3 track.) Anyways, I got into it mainly for the holidays and have already started building an excursion train. I just acquired one of the very nice Bachmann (surprising for them) 2-8-0 outside frame steam engines that comes DCC ready. I would like to make a modification to it in the sense of adding Tsunami sound. I've added plenty of sound and non-sound decoders to my HO diesels with no issue but this will be a new challenge for me.

If I've done my research correctly, I need to get a Tsunami TSU-1000 Light Steam Soundtraxx decoder. Can anyone give me some tips/how-to's/any other DIY information I might need to do it properly? Is this the proper decoder for this engine? Does it have to be hardwired? Is it plug n' play? Etc, etc... Thanks guys and sorry for all the questions.

Date: 12/14/14 18:23
Re: Adding sound to On30 2-8-0. DIY tips?
Author: nicknack

I would suggest watching the fit of the tender to make sure you get the right sealing around the speaker to produce the best sound. Also carefully test the plug to make sure it is wired properly. There will be a DC plug adapter in there that should make sense for what the tsunami plug will be. No fun letting the magic smoke out of a nice sound decoder.

Date: 12/15/14 10:27

nicknack Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> I would suggest watching the fit of the tender to
> make sure you get the right sealing around the
> speaker to produce the best sound. Also carefully
> test the plug to make sure it is wired properly.
> There will be a DC plug adapter in there that
> should make sense for what the tsunami plug will