Home Open Account Help 337 users online

Model Railroading > KRK's Lionel O-gauge Layout Construction Project (Expansion...)

Date: 08/27/16 16:13
KRK's Lionel O-gauge Layout Construction Project (Expansion...)
Author: KeyRouteKen

Hi Everybody--
Thought I'd run some more photos of what I've been doing lately !!  I'm NOT an expert like the rest of you layout builders, but it gives me an active hobby for a few more years so that I don't get Dementia, like the type that killed my brother Jim at 78, who didn't have ANY hobbies.

The original layout started in what used to be the Living Room--  we are now expanding into what used to be our formal Dining Room.  I got to do this because I received permission from my local Real Estate agent & General Manager  ("SUZIE") ...

First few photos, a simple frame for supporting a frrame of 57-onches by 44-inches.  About 35-inches in height !!

KRK

Historical Note:  That red colored CLAMP laying on the carpet under the new frame, belonged to my grandfather and must be "at least" eighty years old !!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/27/16 16:43 by KeyRouteKen.

Date: 08/27/16 16:19
Re: KRK's Lionel O-gauge Layout Construction Project (Expansion..

A few more photos.

Auxilliary control panel under construction-- showing TWO sides.
The new platform expansion will support a Village, a Farm, and a Cattle Car operating track.  The oval of track will be for local Birney streetcar system for the folks who live in the Village or work at "ZIE" farm...  (Suzie--without the SU)

A branch from the main layout, taking off near the Trolley Loop, will cross the track oval on a 45-degree crossover and terminate in the Cattle Operating track.

KRK

Date: 08/27/16 16:24

More photos..  You can see the Main Layout in the other room ..

We bought SEVEN Lionel Christmas ornaments.  Didn't know, however, that they were each as big as soccer balls.  So we hung them from the ceiling in both rooms.

KRK

Date: 08/27/16 16:30

More photos..