Home Open Account Help 324 users online

Model Railroading > N scale loco question

Date: 11/04/00 14:02
N scale loco question
Author: davef

I have an N scale Atlas GP-40 (non-decoder)running on a MRC-command 2000. The loco runs smoothly but it seems to start out at a fairly high speed. It starts and stops at around 10-20 mph. Is there a problem with the loco or is it common with N scale locos(I'm new to N scale). I was wondering cause I have an HO scale Atlas U33C and I can make it creep very slowly. I'm thinking that the N scale loco does this because of the very light weight of the loco compared to HO scale locos. Any thoughts?

Date: 11/04/00 16:11
RE: N scale loco question
Author: Moment

MRC is not a good choice if you want to run your loco's at a very slow speed.. They pules A.C. power in to the DC side of the power supply!! You need an all DC power pack to run them realy slow and MRC just ain't going to do it!! A good way to see if the power pack is pumping AC in is take the shell off the loco so you can see the motor. Flip the power switch off, set the control to 15% snap the power shitch on, if the motor moves a little but does not start that was the AC pules..

Date: 11/04/00 23:42
Author: Captain_Bazza

I've not been active in MRR 'N' for some years, my collection of locos is over 20 (from what I can remember). Some were better starters than others. Maybe it's to do with the different resistance of the motor windings causing the sudden jump start.

My controller is an old UK made Hammet and Morgan, with full/half wave rectification, and most locos responded well, with smooth starts, but I'm sure there were a couple 'jumpers' too.

Having said that, I know some of my ho stuff was a bit fierce starting, so it's not just 'N' that has the problem.

Date: 11/05/00 13:42
Author: MOPAC-1