Home Open Account Help 360 users online

Model Railroading > Looking for tips on assembling styrene car sides

Date: 02/18/17 18:07
Looking for tips on assembling styrene car sides
Author: jkchubbes

I bought a set of styrene car sides from Union Station Products for a baggage car that I want to model.  I've never worked with styrene before, using this as a project to hop back into the hobby.  I was curious if anyone had any tips on assembling a car sides model?  I have scoured the Internet for how-to articles or tutorials but come up blank.  What kind of glues and tools do you guys recommend?

Date: 02/18/17 21:47
Re: Looking for tips on assembling styrene car sides
Author: fbe

Use the Tamiya super thin liquid cement and let it flow into the joints.

Date: 02/19/17 06:10
Author: NSTopHat

There are several YouTube tutorial videos about how and where to use Tamiya liquid cements. Though they are typically geared towards scale model builders, i.e. armor, aircraft, ships, etc., the principles still apply. As another poster replied, use the Tamiya Super thin., applicator brush is integrated into the cap.

One other trick that the master builder at Squadron models uses is to use Tamiya tape to hold things together and NOT to squeeze too hard so that melted plastic comes oozing out of the joints.

Regards
Russ

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/19/17 07:17 by NSTopHat.

Date: 02/20/17 11:08
Author: ATSF3751

jkchubbes Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> I bought a set of styrene car sides from Union
> Station Products for a baggage car that I want to
> model.  I've never worked with styrene before,
> using this as a project to hop back into the
> hobby.  I was curious if anyone had any tips on
> assembling a car sides model?  I have scoured the
> Internet for how-to articles or tutorials but come
> up blank.  What kind of glues and tools do you
> guys recommend?

I have used ACC gap filling cement for years without problem.