Home Open Account Help 327 users online

Passenger Trains > Comparison: CAF vs Nippon Sharyo

Date: 07/24/14 10:38
Comparison: CAF vs Nippon Sharyo
Author: twropr

On Tuesday a long thread opened as a result of the RAILPACE editorial regarding the length of time CAF is taking to get the Viewliner II cars delivered. I just came up with a comparison that puts the matter into better prospective.
In Aug. 2010 Metra's Board of Directors approved a $585 order for 160 new Highliner MU cars for the ex-IC Metra Electric Line. Awardee Nippon Sharyo built a factory in Rochelle, IL where the cars were assembled. The first new Highliner was released in Sept. 2012; as of this writing about half the order has been delivered.
Amtrak and CAF announed the 130-car Viewliner II order on July 23,2010. To date 4 cars have been released for testing.
I am not an equipment engineer and have not visited either plant. I am merely suggesting citing an example of a foreign company who, like CAF, was awarded a contract to build cars for a US railroad (MU's that have propulsion equipment as well as passenger amenities), and delivered their product in about half the time that CAF is taking. I believe this comparison raises some questions.
Andy

Date: 07/24/14 10:57
Re: Comparison: CAF vs Nippon Sharyo
Author: CCT41

CAF has a notorious reputation in North America, as being late, and well, quality issues always seem to be the root cause. Houston Metro is having issues with their new LRVs being delivered. Other properties who have gone to CAF for vehicles have had their share of issues.

Date: 07/24/14 13:38
Author: GP25

CCT41 Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> CAF has a notorious reputation in North America,
> as being late, and well, quality issues always
> seem to be the root cause. Houston Metro is having
> issues with their new LRVs being delivered. Other
> properties who have gone to CAF for vehicles have
> had their share of issues.