Home Open Account Help 392 users online

Passenger Trains > Nippon Sharyo Bi-Level car order update for IDOT , Caltrans?

Date: 08/26/16 13:45
Nippon Sharyo Bi-Level car order update for IDOT , Caltrans?
Author: edgy14

Newbie here--- be gentle.
Wondering if anyone has heard latest regarding work, post the failed Nippon Sharyo 800,000# compression test on the car shell late in 2015? Saw some articles on line recently discussing whether federal monies will disappear as deadlines approach. But other than a February of 2016 update at Cal Trans (which says that the compression test failed at 798,000# - THAT CLOSE? wow...) I cannot find anything. The Siemen's Charger tests on the initial two engines delivered as part of this overall multi-state upgrade are all over the web, but when it comes to the 130 car rolling stock order... nada.
Any help?

I tried to attach the article, but neither pdf nor powerpoint look to be valid to upload.

Thanks.   Ed

Date: 08/26/16 17:43
Re: Nippon Sharyo Bi-Level car order update for IDOT , Caltrans?
Author: mp51w

And yet they still crank out bi-level electric cars for Metra?
Could they have done a single level car within the crush test parameters?

Date: 08/26/16 17:50
Author: joemvcnj

< Could they have done a single level car within the crush test parameters?>

Doesn't matter. Nobody is buying them.

Date: 08/26/16 18:37
Author: Alexmarissa

There's a brief article about the cars in the latest issue of "Passenger Train Journal."

Posted from iPhone

Date: 08/26/16 18:55
Author: Lackawanna484

Are the Nippon people even doing any work on the new cars?  I understood they paid off many of the workers and sent them home. Turned out the lights, and closed down most of their operation on the bi-level cars.

Date: 08/26/16 21:42
Author: illini73

mp51w Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> And yet they still crank out bi-level electric cars for Metra?