Home Open Account Help 332 users online

Railfan Technology > External Mic Question

Date: 07/03/14 20:25
External Mic Question
Author: 611Doug

Hello all,
A couple months back, I bought a Canon Vixia HF R50 camcorder with 57X zoom. I have been very pleased with the picture quality and sound quality when there is little to no wind. I asked the local camera shop what the best possible options would be for an external mic and they said that for this type of camera that I would experience no change in the sound quality and to just use the noise suppression setting on the camcorder itself. I did and I was not impressed at all with the sound quality. I am looking for a reasonably priced mic that will cut down on wind noise. I would like to stay within the price range of $100-$150. If I have to, I will go above that but I would prefer to stay within that range. I am pretty new with the photography aspect of the hobby so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
-611Doug

Date: 07/04/14 06:05
Re: External Mic Question
Author: chico

Doug,
They are discontinued so up you'd have to find one aftermarket, like on eBay, but the Audio Technica AT25 is a stereo condenser mic that works great, I have one for external audio in the field.

Great mic for the money.

You will need to find or fashion a windscreen for the mic, and perhaps a desktop mount to set it on the ground. I found I got the best results just laying the mic on a tuft of grass near the tracks.

Here's one on eBay: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Audio-Technica-ATR25-Stereo-Condenser-Microphone-/201122002586?pt=US_Pro_Audio_Microphones&hash=item2ed3ce369a

Date: 07/04/14 09:13
Author: radar