Home Open Account Help 343 users online

Railfan Technology > Affordable Drawing or Cad Program?

Date: 08/11/14 10:44
Affordable Drawing or Cad Program?
Author: wabash2800

I need an affordable program to do drawings of structures, track diagrams and maps. I don't need 3D and don't want a steep learning curve as I am a writer, book publisher and model railroader (I do a lot of scratch-building) with limited time.

I think Correl might be OK but it looks like they want a subscription. I would also like to save things in a well known file format like Adobe PDF that someone else could use to print that doesn't have my program.

Any suggestions?

Victor A. Baird
http://www.erstwhilepublications.com

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/11/14 10:46 by wabash2800.

Date: 08/11/14 11:46
Re: Affordable Drawing or Cad Program?
Author: TheApostleGreen

Hi Victor,

DraftSight is a good free tool that can save in .DWG format (same as AutoCAD's) - which can be helpful if you ever need to share drawings with others, have a print shop print them on a plotter, etc. It's hard for me to judge the learning curve, because I have many thousands of hours using several different drawing and CAD tools, but I believe that you'd probably find this tool fairly easy to get into and do what you want with it.

http://www.3ds.com/products-services/draftsight/overview/

Be advised that you have to register an email address to get a key to activate it (even the free edition), which may or may not be your cup of tea. There is a user community but I don't know how active it is (I haven't used this tool very much, and really haven't needed any help on anything that I've needed to do with it.)

Good luck in your quest!

Joe P.

Hainesville, IL

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/11/14 11:51 by TheApostleGreen.

Date: 08/11/14 12:23
Author: Ruger338