Home Open Account Help 388 users online

Railfan Technology > Night Photo Help

Date: 12/17/14 16:58
Night Photo Help
Author: jrs611

I have a Cannon Sx500IS power shot camera. I like my camera a lot but for use of any night shots is out of the question. I'm new to this and would love any advice or suggestions. What would be best to use track side? Anything will help.

Thanks,
J.R.

Date: 12/17/14 17:33
Re: Night Photo Help
Author: Vanakatherock

The absolute best camera for night photo or video is the Sony A7s followed by the Nikon Df, both of which are a world of difference between themselves and a point & shoot. Oh, and a lot more expensive, as both are north of $2,000 without a lens.

A point & shoot with good low light capabilities can be the Sony RX100 line. Other alternatives that are, at the very least comparable, are the Canon PowerShot G7-X and the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000. All three of these will set you back at least $700, which puts you in the upper tier of entry level and lowest tier of mid range DSLR pricing.

Date: 12/17/14 22:22
Author: norm1153

My vote goes to the Sony RX100 Miii current version. Here's a handheld night shot of the Caltrain Christms train I posted here last week:

http://www.trainorders.com/discussion/read.php?4,3597331,3597331#msg-3597331

Date: 12/17/14 22:36
Author: wa4umr