Home Open Account Help 352 users online

Railfan Technology > Has Anybody Ever Used This Scanner for Slides

Date: 08/29/15 11:06
Has Anybody Ever Used This Scanner for Slides
Author: MartyBernard

I have a EPSON Perfection V500 Photo and have only used it for scanning prints because I have a really good slide scanner. I was wondering if anybody has experience with it scanning slides and if it is as good quality wise as a dedicated slide scanner.  My brother has it now and I'm wondering if it is worth shipping here.

Thanks,
Marty Bernard

Date: 08/29/15 11:16
Re: Has Anybody Ever Used This Scanner for Slides
Author: TCnR

I've been using the Epson V500 for a few years, it appears to have a limitation related to focusing point and slide, or slide carrier thickness. I find a few slides just never get sharp, even though they appear to be ok using a loupe or when they were projected. I'm scanning 35mm and also 6x4.5, I post them on PBase and have a link attached to my TO name.

The V500 works out ok, there are better and there are worse. We have had a number of discussions in the past recommending a few fixes, like shimming the slide or using custom made carriers. I have had almost no trouble with the software or operations. If you were purchasing a scanner I would suggest the Epson V700 or similar, but in this case the price seems to be right and the quality is acceptable.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/29/15 11:18 by TCnR.

Date: 08/30/15 07:29
Author: acltrainman

I've had and been using a Epson V500 for quite a few years. I've scanned about 4,000 slides and like the results.

Stanley Jackowski
Valrico, FL

Date: 08/30/15 07:49
Author: seod