Home Open Account Help 281 users online

Railfan Technology > 650 close calls so far this year...

Date: 09/23/15 18:35
650 close calls so far this year...
Author: Ray_Murphy

FAA stepping up action on illegal drone use: 

http://nyti.ms/1OS6I5f

Date: 09/23/15 22:14
Re: 650 close calls so far this year...
Author: milepost180

I'm a retired pilot.  The FAA needs to license drone pilots.  If you think not, then let Speeders and Hand Cars operate where they want when they want!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/23/15 22:16 by milepost180.

Date: 09/23/15 22:22
Author: wa4umr

The article a week ago should be viewed if you missed it.  http://www.trainorders.com/discussion/read.php?9,3846155

Seems like the FAA could issue some temporary rules to govern these things until they can produce some comprehensive rules.  I haven't watched this indepth but it's hard to ignore what's going on.  There seems to be rules for commercial drones but almost nothing for hobbiest.  A realtor needs a license to fly one to take an aerial photo of your home but if you want to take the picture, you're OK to do it (provided you're not vilolating other rules.)

In Kentucky, where I live, the owner of a drone flew over his neighbors property.  The neighbor thought it was fair game and shot it.  He has been refered to at "The Drone Slayer."

John

Date: 09/24/15 06:52
Author: Frisco1522

I didn't figure it would be too long that they would become a pain in the ass.  Seems like stupidity always wins in the end.  Just because you have one doesn't mean you can do everything you want with it.
Maybe they are what is causing Climate Change.

Date: 09/24/15 16:30
Author: jkh2cpu

Frisco1522 Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> I didn't figure it would be too long that they
> would become a pain in the ass.  Seems like
> stupidity always wins in the end.  Just because
> you have one doesn't mean you can do everything
> you want with it.