Home Open Account Help 333 users online

Railfan Technology > Good Entry-Level DSLR for Train Photography

Pages:  [ 1 ][ 2 ] [ Next ]
Current Page:1 of 2

Date: 11/26/15 08:18
Good Entry-Level DSLR for Train Photography
Author: Trainatic

Hello all, 

I am looking into investing in a DSLR for my railfan photography, and was wondering what suggestions people have. I currently use a point and shoot, so I'm not experienced in DSLRs. I had seen a lot of good reviews for the Nikon D3300, but wasn't sure how it holds up when photographing trains moving at 70mph. I have also heard good things about the Canon Rebel T5. I'm kind of leaning toward the Canon, but mainly due to price. I'm wanting to keep the price fairly low, if possible. I have also read that the lenses are very important, but don't know much about them. 
Thanks in advance for any suggestions and comments!
   -Caleb

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/26/15 09:09 by Trainatic.

Date: 11/26/15 10:17
Re: Good Entry-Level DSLR for Train Photography
Author: NormSchultze

Not wanting to start a flame war, but, this Canonista has to face the fact that the Sony sensors in Nikons are superior to the decade old design sesors in Canons.  It pains me to say that, but.....

Go to www.dpreview.com and look around.  One thing to remember, dpreview is a gear head site, and the gera heads will argue about almost anything. But there is a large knowledge base there.

The T5/T5i have been superceded by the T6/T6i in Canonland.

Date: 11/26/15 13:35
Author: fbe

Dslr cameras allow you to set a shutter speed of 1/500-1/1000 second which will freeze action at 70mph. You can then let the camera choose the proper aperture or you can manually set one using the camera meter.

The newer sensors do work well at ISO 500 and higher if you need that.

I have been Nikon since the film days and I wore out the Minolta. I can still use my old film lenses on my Nikon digital body.