Home Open Account Help 217 users online

Railfan Technology > Dreamweaver and Windows 10

Date: 02/03/16 15:18
Dreamweaver and Windows 10
Author: donstrack

A family member just told me that Windows 10 was automatically installed on her Windows 7 machine. She did not notice a chance to say no.

That reminded me that a couple months ago, I did some research in preparation for losing Dreamweaver CS3 when I upgrade to from Win7Pro to Win10 myself. I'm too cheap to pay Adobe $20 a month for a copy of Dreamweaver that wouldn't be any different than what I have been using since 2005. Maybe a few more bells and whistles, and features I don't need, all of which don't apply to me, because I have been using PHP since 2004. Admittedly, very simple and minimal PHP, but PHP none the less.

A search for an alternative to Dreamweaver resulted in nothing comparable. Lots of suggestions concerning online editors, text editors, and IDE (integrated development environment) editors. After a couple days of twiddling, I found that I could use the free WAMP (Windows-Apache-MySQL-PHP) localhost server, and a PHP editor called RapidPHP, which is up to version 13, and costs $39.95. Works pretty good. But I'll wait until I have to absolutely give up DW to make the actual switch.

Unfortunately, I have to give up the greatest benefit of using Dreamweaver, which is DW's WYSIWYG view of tables. And on UtahRails, I have a lot of tables, in the form of rosters and other data.

Here are my links for when the time comes.

http://utahrails.net/tech-talk-localhost.php

Don Strack 

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/03/16 17:49 by donstrack.

Date: 02/03/16 17:25
Re: Dreamweaver and Windows 10
Author: callum_out

The only way currently to avoid that is to shut off the automatic updates, choose the manual install
method.

Out

Date: 02/03/16 17:48
Author: donstrack

callum_out Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> The only way currently to avoid that is to shut