Home Open Account Help 314 users online

Railfan Technology > Radios for railfanning - in a nutshell

Date: 04/02/16 11:03
Radios for railfanning - in a nutshell
Author: WW

There is a constant stream of posts here on TO that ask the same questions over and over about radios for railfanning.  I’m going to try sum up what makes a good railfan radio in one post.  For the record, I’ve been using 2-way radios for over 40 years, and hold both amateur and business band radio licenses.  I have also used both the older analog technologies and the newer NXDN digital technology that will be the future railroad standard.  So, here we go.

Important radio features.
Sensitivity.  Just as its name implies, sensitivity is a measure of how sensitive the radio’s receiver is receiving weak signals.  The good news is that all but the cheapest scanners, amateur radios and commercial two-way radios have very good to excellent sensitivity these days.  The bad news--well, that’s next.