Home Open Account Help 385 users online

Railfan Technology > Motorola Railroad Radio Setup Help

Date: 09/06/16 17:10
Motorola Railroad Radio Setup Help
Author: NS2501

Good evening all. Since the speaker in my scanner went out, I am looking at purchasing an actual radio (greater range being the primary benefit over simply buying a new scanner). The radio in question is a Motorola MCS2000 II VHF 25 watt radio, set up for railroad band. I am a complete newbie when it comes to radios of any kind, so how would I set it up? It comes with the radio itself, external speaker, and microphone. Is disabling the ability to transmit as simple as unplugging the mic? What kind of antenna should I buy? How would I mount said antenna to my car (4 dr sedan)? Any additional cables/wires I need to purchase? Anything else I might be missing?
Thanks,

Justin S.

Date: 09/06/16 18:58
Re: Motorola Railroad Radio Setup Help
Author: WW

Don't do it.  Motorola programming software and cables can be expensive.  The Motorolas won't do NXDN digital, which is coming eventually to the railroads.  When it does, the Motorola becomes a useless brick for railfanning.  Once the AAR adopted NXDN as the digital platform for the future, the Class 1's essentially quit buying Motorola radios in favor the Kenwood and Icom models that will do NXDN.  If you don't want to bite the bullet and buy an NXDN-capable commercial radio for railfanning, you can buy a number of less expensive analog radio models that will perform close to the Motorola at a fraction of the cost until the day comes that the railroads go digital.   A good example is the amateur Kenwood TK-281A mobile radio.  It is a great performing analog radio and can usually be bought for less than $150.