Home Open Account Help 350 users online

Railfan Technology > Uniden Bearcat BCT 15X Scanner

Date: 11/07/16 12:25
Uniden Bearcat BCT 15X Scanner
Author: VinnieM

Looking at this unit to replace the hand held one I use in my truck. Easy to program ? Any pros or cons ? Thanks Vinnie

Date: 11/08/16 03:27
Re: Uniden Bearcat BCT 15X Scanner
Author: lilwes

I have been using it for 2 years now. I paired it with a RR band antenna (can't remember which one) and have gotten great results. In around Topeka I can hear a train crew 10-15 miles away now. Where as with my hand held I could only get 5-6 miles out. Yes it is easy to program.
later...lilwes

Wes Chiles
Topeka, KS

Date: 11/08/16 04:38

Thanks Wes. Do you need to use a PC to program RR channels into the scanner ?

Date: 11/08/16 11:00
Author: grahamline

PC programming isn't necessary. I use the eraser end of a pencil to tap the tiny buttons, though. It goes quickly once you learn the rhythm.

Date: 11/08/16 15:51

Thanks grahamline. Ordered the BCT 15X today from Scanner Master in MA and they are going to program the 100 AAR channels into the radio for me. Got an E -Mail 2 hrs after I ordered it that it was programmed and shipped. Excellent service. Vinnie

Date: 11/09/16 06:11
Author: NKP715

Be sure to let us know how it works for you.

Date: 11/09/16 09:01

Sure will. Thanks everyone 

Date: 11/10/16 08:47
Author: WW