Home Open Account Help 361 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > Oregon Trunk Line

Date: 09/13/13 12:29
Oregon Trunk Line
Author: Torisgod

I am currently at a cabin near Sunriver, Oregon. I go here every September. I remember being here and hearing about the Chatsworth wreck, five years ago.

I have never done much railfanning on this trip before, because BNSF's nearby Oregon Trunk Line is notoriously quiet, and the rest of my family isn't to keen on sitting by the tracks all day. So, I would like to be notified on the train times. What times do the Pasco to Barstow manifests come past Sunriver, or the nearest spot on the railroad to it? Are there any other manifests? Might I see freight trains other than manifests on the OT, like intermodals or oil unit trains? Thank you for your kind answers.

Tor in Sunriver

Date: 09/13/13 13:07
Re: Oregon Trunk Line
Author: TCnR

Yep, very spotty but you do have the crew change in Bend to give you a heads-up. There had been a series of radio repeaters that would give a person an idea what to expect, not sure what that status is right now. There's also a couple of Yahoo Groups that might help you out.

Listening to RR radio dot net, there's a CN leader heading north, just had a meet at Almanor with the local, or maybe a work train.

Date: 09/13/13 14:44
Author: espee51

I took this photo of a northbound train at about 4:30 pm on June 19, 2009 while visiting Sunriver. The photo was taken from the bridge near the entrance to the Sunriver resort area. While I heard several radio transmissions while spending the week at Sunriver, this is the only one I had the opportunity to photograph.

Date: 09/13/13 15:12
Author: funnelfan

From Sunriver, go north on 97 to the Lava Butte Exit, then head west following the road to the falls on the Deschutes River. Where you cross the tracks is the north end of the Lava Siding. A short distance north is where the tracks cut through the Lava Beds.

Ted Curphey
Ontario, OR