Home Open Account Help 310 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > Dunsmuir area ?

Date: 03/21/20 14:23
Dunsmuir area ?
Author: JAmtrak

Hey. Never been to Dunsmuir. I am going next weekend. Any1 with any info on train activity / places to eat, etc, please share. I am kinda new to California. Any info greatly appreciated. TIA/ AIA / KFC

Date: 03/21/20 14:51
Re: Dunsmuir area ?
Author: radar

Stay home, California is closed.  There's a shelter in place order in effect until further notice.

Date: 03/21/20 15:22
Author: TCnR

Amtrak or by car?

For starters, on PhotoBob's website they have an early copy of the Dunsmuir Photoguide put together by Bruce Petty and Bob Morris:
http://users.snowcrest.net/photobob/photoguide1.html

This is kinda dated but links to businesses in the area:
https://dunsmuir.com/business-directory/

There's also a rental listed in the TO classified ads.

Also try that well known video website with the initials YT, use their search for Dunsmuir Rail Cam. Trains seem to be around 8 am and 4 pm, plus or minus a whole bunch.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 03/21/20 15:27 by TCnR.

Date: 03/21/20 17:48
Author: Soo715

As others have said, stay at home! Taking a railfan trip right now is not only illegal it is unwise and unethical.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/21/20 17:49 by Soo715.

Date: 03/21/20 22:53
Author: cchan006

JAmtrak Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
>  I am kinda new> to California. Any info greatly appreciated. TIA/
> AIA / KFC

Where are you coming from? TCnR above has given you good tips.