Home Open Account Help 342 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > New world record: Standing high jump!

Date: 07/05/20 11:48
New world record: Standing high jump!
Author: santafe199

for under 10 year-olds

On America’s 244th birthday I was over in my second hometown to shoot Abilene & Smoky Valley’s ex-Santa Fe #3415. After missing the beloved 4-6-2 all of 2019 it was a happy reunion with an old friend who I’ve been chasing & shooting for 10 years. As I mentioned yesterday, it never gets old…

1. The 3415 brought the train over from Abilene in the morning sunshine. Perfectly set up for photographers on the chase. The 3415 has cut off & run around its train. And she’s now nosing into ex-UP caboose 25466 for the bass-ackward return trip. The crew’s flagman is guiding the engineer into the joint…

2. …which was successful. The flagman is now “in between”, lacing up the air hoses.

3. Meanwhile, off to the side the whole process is being watched through young eyes of pure wonderment. With Huck looking on, Tom is explaining to Becky: “When I grow up, I wanna be as big as one of them wheels!” He would undoubtedly be pointing toward the 3415’s drivers!

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 07/05/20 11:54 by santafe199.

Date: 07/05/20 11:51
Re: New world record: Standing high jump!

The routine air test is in progress, complete with signals from the 3415’s melodic but loud whistle. Events are still being watched from the gallery

4. After a short but shrill whistle signal during the ongoing air test all-American machismo is still emanating from brave young Messrs. Huck & Tom. But little Becky, whose IQ just might be higher than the other 2 combined has her hands in close & very safe proximity of her own tender ears.

5. The 3415 + company is now air-tested and ready for departure, and is drifting toward the Bridge St crossing, where I’m set up. A full & VERY LOUD crossing sequence is just milliseconds away…