Home Open Account Help 327 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > WW2 Rail Car still in service on Class 1 in 2021!

Date: 06/08/21 22:13
WW2 Rail Car still in service on Class 1 in 2021!
Author: Texican65

How many railcars built during World War II are still in service on class 1 railroads to-day? NOT MANY! In fact, this is the first one that I've ever seen. Prior to this, I'd only seen a fire service water tank built in '49, and a MOW rock car built in '47 still in service within the last few years.

I happened to notice this MOW flat to-day, and I saw that it had rivets. I knew it must have been old to have rivets all over it the way it did, so I jumped down and scoped it out for a few minutes. I'm a lousy photographer with lousy equipment, and I didn't have much space or time...but check this out. Look at the build date.

Not sure what kind of flat this is...it had permanently installed rails topside....maybe for transporting MOW equipment? Current number is BNSF 926036...prior ATSF 206073.

Date: 06/08/21 22:16
Re: WW2 Rail Car still in service on Class 1 in 2021!

Additional pics...

Date: 06/08/21 22:20

And is this a General Freightcar emblem? Manufacturer? I think that was the name.....maybe not?

Date: 06/08/21 22:59
Author: pdt

Would be interesting to see the shop dates.  The trucks and handbrake and the rails are obviously added later.  IDK if there's any age limit on non-interchanged home road non-revenue service, so long as they have rebuilt within a specified period of time, and approved for service by a RR mechanical officer.

Date: 06/08/21 23:17

pdt Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Would be interesting to see the shop dates.  The
> trucks and handbrake and the rails are obviously
> added later.  IDK if there's any age limit on
> non-interchanged home road non-revenue service, so
> long as they have rebuilt within a specified
> period of time, and approved for service by a RR
> mechanical officer.