Home Open Account Help 286 users online

Steam & Excursion > Why 4014!??

Current Page:1 of 3

Date: 12/14/12 18:13
Why 4014!??
Author: Guernseygirl

Since they haven't checked any, why not the Cheyenne engine? Cheaper shipping. And with all the trading of appliances with stuffed engines to get good parts going on, why not? And Cheyenne is a DRY climate. How long was it under water? What would be the problem? Does it lack stuff above the waist?

Posted from Android

Date: 12/14/12 18:48
Re: Why 4014!??
Author: Spikes

One can consider that 4004 may be 4/5 mile from mainline, may have asbestos lagging, freeze water damage, boiler rust, and what is maintenance record before shut down, are appliances present, axle and rod bearing condition, staybolts, etc. Consider also that UP can move objects across country easily. I am not an expert for comparing 4004 to 4014.

Date: 12/14/12 18:53
Author: HotWater

But on the other hand, there is that 4005, just down the road in Denver, and it has been inside a building for a looooooonnng time.

Date: 12/14/12 19:39
Author: Hillcrest

Are service records still available? I would think if they are (I bet they are) it gives them a pretty good idea what condition the locomotives were in when retired, like mileage and service days...was there much of a difference between the "early" models and the later ones? Were there "good" ones and "bad" ones? I've always heard that locomotives of a certain class all performed differently, as do trucks (my company operates an order of 3 that I watched come through the assembly line together, and one is great, one is pretty good, one is a dog)I wonder if this would be considered along with the conditions each have been preserved in?

Cheers, Dave

Date: 12/14/12 19:55
Author: UP6936

Remember that 4004 has given up many parts for the 3985. So that might very well be the reason behind not going after it. Also in August of 1985, 4004 was under about 6 feet of water after flooding in Cheyenne.