Home Open Account Help 290 users online

European Railroad Discussion > Train-themed Christmas in Tivoli Gardens

Date: 12/25/19 10:39
Train-themed Christmas in Tivoli Gardens
Author: F7sForever

Merry Christmas to my TO friends and acquaintances. I am a certified professional-grade humbug, generally decrying the retail orgy that surrounds the holidays. (Ten years in retail in high school and college probaby did that.) So when I first suggested that our European trip this year center around some of the Christmas markets, I imagine it was a bit of a shock to my poor wife. But it worked out fantastically. By chance, we were in Copenhagen, Denmark, for the opening of the Christmas displays at Tivoli Gardens, one of Europe's largest amusement parks. I am not sure if it is a yearly theme, or if we were fortunate enough to pick the right year on accident, but the theme for 2019 was titled "Trainsbury" with two rather convincingly iron looking steam engine replicas carrying trams that contained some of the shops and food vendors, on either side of a building that had been purposed as the central depot, complete with the park's main Christmas Tree on top.

The main fountain area had been repurposed to contain another large Christmas Tree, and a fairly sizeable eight track loop G scale model railroad. Tivoli Gardens was actually built well before Copenhagen Central Station, which is right across the street. But the railroad theme was a pleasant surprise. More photos will follow!

Date: 12/25/19 10:43
Re: Train-themed Christmas in Tivoli Gardens