Home Open Account Help 316 users online

Railroaders' Nostalgia > Scrape your student off the ceiling

Date: 07/14/13 13:25
Scrape your student off the ceiling
Author: shay2305

My first professional railroading job was for the Port of Tillamook Bay Railroad. I started in the summer of 2002 in the Maintenance of Way department and moved to train service a year later. By 2005 I was an engineer in training.

If you are not familiar with the topography of the Tillamook Line it is pretty simple. Once you leave the stretch along the Oregon Coast the rail line snakes up the Nehalem and Salmonberry Rivers and climbs a grade approaching and sometimes exceeding 3%. At Cochran, the top of the hill, the railroad transitions from 3% up to 3% down in very short order. It feels very much like the start of a roller coaster. With four aged SD-9s of SP and BN heritage we could lift 15 to 20 loads up the hill at a time, so most days we'd have to cut the train and double the hill since trains averaged 25 to 30 cars.

On one of my last student trips headed east bound with the loads we doubled the train to the top of the hill. After putting the train back together and charging the air I took a light set and started down the hill. As the line descends eastward from Cochran it is a fairly steady 3% for about 4.5 or 5 miles. At Step Creek the grade slackens to about 2%. At the transition there a section where the grade becomes nearly level at a point where SP built a fill over Step Creek to remove the trestle that was originally built. It was at this point where my instructor moved behind me to keep and eye on things while I prepared to release the air, recharge the train and take another set before the train ran away down the hill.