Home Open Account Help 320 users online

Railroaders' Nostalgia > Mad Dog Chronicle #310 Old (RR) War Story: Past posting a bookie.

Date: 12/09/16 11:45
Mad Dog Chronicle #310 Old (RR) War Story: Past posting a bookie.
Author: mdo

Ok, it is a rainy day and I haven't written a MDC in awhile,  Lately I have been reposting older Chronicles on Facebook.   The next one will be about my Superintendent, on the Western Division, W M Jones telling old railroad war stories.  Here is one of his funniest stories.

I must first state that I do not gamble and I have no experience with horse raceing   Also that doing what WMJ said that he did could easily supply you with a pair of cement overshoes.

According to Jones,  he and another LA Division trainmaster went into a bookie joint in Hollywood at lunch time.  While waiting to place a wager Jones, who new morse code since he had started his career on the SP as a telegraph operator, heard the sound of a telegraph sending in information on current race results.  He also observed that the bookie was still accepting bets on the outcome of that race.  Jones and his buddy stepped outside and discussed this discovery.  They concluded that this was too good to pass up.  But, we will never to be able to use this book again Jones allowed.

Back in they went again as the next race begins.  Once again the bookie, who obviously  can not understand morse code, is still keeping his book open after the race is over.  Jones and his partner place all their available cash on the winning horse at very favorable odds and of course score big.  End of story.... And lived to tell about it if you can believe WMJ.......???

12//9/16   mdo

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 12/09/16 12:04 by mdo.

Date: 12/09/16 14:43
Re: Mad Dog Chronicle #310 Old (RR) War Story: Past posting a boo
Author: WAF

Sounds like a story from The Sting. Favorites don't pay out as well as long shots. Hope Jones's horse was a long shot