Home Open Account Help 293 users online

Railroaders' Nostalgia > Before Railroads Went Paperless - What A Waybill Looked Like

Pages:  [ 1 ][ 2 ] [ Next ]
Current Page:1 of 2

Date: 09/05/19 23:37
Before Railroads Went Paperless - What A Waybill Looked Like
Author: CA_Sou_MA_Agent

When I worked for Santa Fe Railway from 1979 to 1985 I was in the clerical craft but I also worked a bunch of miscellaneous other jobs.  At one time or another, I worked as a clerk, a  train order operator, a towerman, a crew and company mail van driver, a janiitor and a "trucker."  That last one was a temporary assignment in San Bernardino where about four other guys and I had to unload the contents of a boxcar that had some damage due to a hotbox and resulting fire.  Why they called the position a "trucker" I do not know.  Clerking involved everything from working the interchange desk at Hobart Yard to working as a "mud hop', where you walked through the yard and visually inspected all the freight cars, making sure what was on paper matched what was in the "real world."  We determined load or empty status, among other things.  To do this, we would look at the springs on the trucks and sometimes toss a rock against a covered hopper.  If it echoed, it was an empty.  Such high technology for the 1980s.  But it worked.  And it might have even worked better than the more modern methods of today.  Under more "modern" arrangements, I've heard horror stories of freight cars moving back and forth between L.A. and Barstow two or three times before they could figure out if it was a load or an empty or where it was supposed to go.  Sometimes freight cars have been known to get lost for weeks on end, and written notices would be issued to crews to "be on the lookout for" a particular freight car.  The reduced manpower attributed to automation and "better" methods may have been a factor in this as well, but no one would ever want to admit to that.  Sometimes even locomotives get lost.  Santa Fe had