Home Open Account Help 317 users online

Railroaders' Nostalgia > That Old Rusty Knuckle

Date: 04/29/20 16:09
That Old Rusty Knuckle
Author: Ivar

As a new Conductor trainee, I learned a wealth of information from the old heads. Sure there was all of the rule stuff that mattered, but then there was “the tricks” that couldn’t be found in the GCOR. Things like where to find food, where to find pry bars to repair run through switches, where to keep the windows closed on the road, etc....really useful stuff. One of the other things we learned was that if your Engineer broke a knuckle (and you liked him or her), the first thing you did when you got back to the separation is “relieve” yourself (aka go #1) on the shiny steel where the break occurred. Supposedly it would rust up pretty quick and save your Engineer a lot of questions.
I never had the opportunity to try this, but a buddy of mine was going up Cajon Pass one night and the train broke in two. This was not long after a couple of those tragic runaways on the hill, so when anything happened and I mean ANYTHING, the whole world came out to see what was going on. So he gets back to where the break in two was, changes out the old partial knuckle and tosses it. Remembering the old “water the daisys” trick he starts looking around for the other half of the broken knuckle and out of sheer luck happens to find a different one that had probably been sitting out there for 30 years. So he drags it over near the gauge and waits for the inquisition. A couple of road foreman show up (probably new) and were astonished that the train got as far as it did with that old rusty knuckle.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/30/20 07:56 by Ivar.

Date: 04/29/20 17:43
Re: That Old Rusty Knuckle
Author: dcfbalcoS1

And the officials never thought to compare the knuckle with the coupler to see the break didn't even fit. Thats why THEY were in mis management.

Date: 04/29/20 19:00
Author: cewherry