Home Open Account Help 379 users online

Railroaders' Nostalgia > Mad Dog Chronical #325 (MDC # 1.1)

Date: 12/03/21 09:54
Mad Dog Chronical #325 (MDC # 1.1)
Author: mdo

MDC #1.1 A Railroad career 

At the time in 1959 that I had my first ride in a business car, I was sixteen years old. with a very uncertain future. I had been admitted to UC Berkeley, planning to major in chemical engineering. Berkeley turned out to not be the right place for me. I dropped out after a year, so at nineteen I started at the Nestle Co. as a clerk. Next I worked as a draftsman for Caltrans, then for PG&E as a surveyor

. In the fall of 1962, I decided to give college another try, graduating-from San Francisco State with a degree in Political Science in 1966.  1966 was also the last summer that I worked for the PG&E Land Department.  I then decided to try to get a MBA and started back at UC Berkeley. To help finance this I went to work for the Southern Pacific as a switchman in San Francisco. 

In 1968 I graduated from Berkeley with a MBA in Transportation. Most of my classmates were headed for a career in the airline industry.  So was I at first.   I had interviewed with Southern Pacific for a spot in their management training program. SP wanted me and matched my best offer from TWA. 

On April first I started in Management as an analyst in The Bureau of Transportation Research, waiting for the start of the 1968 training program class in June. In that same class were  Mike Mohan, Bob Melbo and Bill Farrens and eight others. The four of us went in to operations supervision.