Home Open Account Help 307 users online

Eastern Railroad Discussion > Pan Am Extraboards

Date: 09/23/07 21:56
Pan Am Extraboards
Author: RS11

Any engineers working for Pan Am on this site? I've been playing around moving back to Maine (Waterville area). No place like home kinda thingy. I'm an engineer with CSX. Does Bangor, Waterville, or Rigby have their own extraboards or does one have to cover them all no matter where he is marked up. Are all the trains scheduled like they used to be? Do you have to be a conductor first? Any info can help. Thanks in advance.

Date: 09/24/07 17:21
Re: Pan Am Extraboards
Author: mgwsy1978

well I heard the you have to be qualified on the entire system to get full pay and dont be surprised if you go to Maine and next thing you know you get bumped and have to work in Deerfield or worse Mechanicville. I have talked to a couple guys and wanted to see if the grass was greener so that I could transfer from the NECR but it didnt look to good. But to answer your other question they do hire Engineers so you dont have to be a conductor.

Date: 09/24/07 22:13
Author: JoeyGooganelli

Hey hey,

I looked into this a few years ago when Tiff was working in Boston a lot. If you are wanting to get generally in the area, check out amtrak, mbta, maine eastern, pan am, and there are a few shortlines around. Best bet you have. CSX also has work in and around the Boston area. Talk to me if you want to hear the terrible thing about being trasferred as an engineer. Believe me, I've been that route. Hope all is well!

-Joe Williams

Date: 09/24/07 23:11

Please do tell of the possibility of getting and Amtrak or MBTA job out of The Boston area. I would love to land one but sending out a handful of Resumes didnt help me one bit. On those railroads your either lucky or you have to know someone. Also The NECR is always hiring or you can try the PW.

Date: 09/25/07 06:53
Author: CSX_CO