Home Open Account Help 240 users online

Eastern Railroad Discussion > Saturday in the Lehigh Valley

Date: 11/04/19 18:27
Saturday in the Lehigh Valley
Author: sscannella

I've been visiting the Allentown / Bethlehem PA area for 30+ years, some of those years I've made 10-12 trips there (especially in Conrail days), more recently I've been heading there once or twice a year, especially since the NS interchange with the Delaware-Lackawanna in Scranton stopped running out of Allentown Yd to Portland.   But starting last December, with having every other Friday off from work, I've been taking the trip 75 miles east about every 6 - 8 weeks on one of my Fridays off.   This weekend though, with clear skies in the forecast, I decided to venture east on Saturday.   Although traffic levels are down a bit through Allentown with the implementation of NS's TOP21 version of PSR (the intent was to close the hump there and move a lot of that work to Enola), it's still busy enough to keep me hopping between the Allentown and Bethlehem sides.   It's virtually impossible to catch everything in the area, but I made out fairly well.

I just missed inbound 10K, which usually has a mid-train DPU, but is much smaller upon arrival at Allentown after making it's Reading set-off.   But the locals were all starting to come on duty (I didn't expect the full gamut of locals on Saturday that are normally seen during the week, but I guess that's one positive benefit of the Top21 program).

First up was what is normally H75 (but I think called themselves H74), heading up the Cement Secondary from JU on the Bethlehem side to customers on the former L&NE.  Pretty good sized train, with a bunch of cement hoppers and some lumber tucked in behind the pipe loads on the head-end.  Then H76 came out through Bethlehem to run east on the Lehigh Line, I'm assuming to Three Bridges or somewhere in New Jersey.