Home Open Account Help 233 users online

Eastern Railroad Discussion > Illinois Train Length/Trespassing Bills

Date: 02/22/21 08:02
Illinois Train Length/Trespassing Bills
Author: SOUCF25

https://trn.trains.com/news/news-wire/2021/02/22-illinois-lawmakers-advance-bills-on-train-length-trespassing-prevention

The legislators are proposing an 8,500 ft maximum train length.  Federal preemption will kill it, but the subject gets some press.

They're also looking at trespassing laws.

Neil

Date: 02/22/21 11:51
Re: Illinois Train Length/Trespassing Bills
Author: u34ch

When I was a project manager for Metro-North for the renovation of Port Jarvis Yard, I asked our General Consular what type of fence would be required. He said do not put up any fences. When a trespassers cuts a hole in the fence,and gets hurt, we will lose in court as we did not repair the fence.
That was OK with me. We saved ten's of thousands of $. Thus the project came in under budget and on time.

Date: 02/22/21 13:08
Author: robj

It was so good when Illinois legislators were out of session due to covid. Now they are back and want to micromanage everything.
Similar with the governor and covid.  The mayor of Chicago is in the game too.  She is opening the lakefront now in the middle of winter.
People had to leave Chicago to go to the beach.
Eating in goes from 25 pct to 40 pct capacity.   There is science in 40 pct and not 50 pct.

Illinois legislators get a good salary. benefits plus what ever they can get on the side.

Bob Jordan

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/22/21 13:09 by robj.

Date: 02/22/21 13:28
Author: DevalDragon

I can't wait for the Illinois State Police to try and stop UP and CN trains to measure them.

Date: 02/22/21 16:07
Author: ERAD

DevalDragon Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> I can't wait for the Illinois State Police to try
> and stop UP and CN trains to measure them.

Well, there is shrinkage in cold weather...

Date: 02/22/21 16:49