Home Open Account Help 261 users online

Model Railroading > Buffalo Creek & Gauley 2-8-0 #13 - modeled using Lego

Date: 06/10/19 11:59
Buffalo Creek & Gauley 2-8-0 #13 - modeled using Lego
Author: BMR

Hello all,

This is my first post on TrainOrders. My name is Glenn Holland, I'm a young mechanical engineer in the rail industry, and my modeling efforts are done with Lego bricks. I've been building and seriously modeling trains using Lego for about 12 years now, but my first love is trains. I thoroughly enjoy the research that goes into building a model.

Here is my newest model: I chose the Buffalo Creek & Gauley 2-8-0 Consolidation #13.

I began designing the model in February this year and brought it to completion this past weekend, right at five months of build time. It runs smoothly using a combination of Lego's home-grown motor/robotics system and a custom (non-Lego) battery. I have also added a sound card from Dallee Electronics. In terms of scale, it is closest to O scale, with the exact ratio being about 1:46.

The model is about 97% pure Lego. The remaining 3% is comprised of custom third party pieces, the non-Lego battery, the sound system, and the connecting rods, which I designed myself and printed on Shapeways.

Link to more photos: https://www.flickr.com/photos/41032663@N08/albums/72157709020830252

Link to a more detailed article: https://brickmodelrailroader.com/index.php/2019/06/10/buffalo-creek-gauley-2-8-0-13-by-glenn-holland/

Lastly, I uploaded a video about it on that popular video sharing site. If you search "Buffalo Creek and Gauley Lego", you'll find it. It should be the first result.

I'm happy to field any questions. Thanks for reading.
Glenn Holland

Date: 06/10/19 12:19
Re: Buffalo Creek & Gauley 2-8-0 #13 - modeled using Lego
Author: wjpyper

What is the track gauge or width in inches of Lego track?
Bill Pyper
Salem, Oregon

Date: 06/10/19 12:27
Author: ALCO630

God, Leggos have come a long way since I was a kid. Beautiful.