Home Open Account Help 277 users online

Model Railroading > Decaling Issue - need Help

Date: 02/10/20 15:54
Decaling Issue - need Help
Author: jburek

I have been applying decals for well over 30 years with good results.  Recently went to work on a Southern Railroad of New Jersey F7 & GP9 for a friend.  Working with the Microscale system.  The decals are not responding to the setting solutions.  The Micro Set & Micro Sol have little effect.  Even Walthers Solvaset is not softening the decals & having them snuggle into place.  My question is... can the setting solutions go bad?  Can they lose their potency over time?   The bottles I have are old - probably 20 years old or so.  Or... did Microscale change their decal production parameters.  I just can't figure this one out.  The decals don't even adhere -once dry they just slide right off.  Hopefully someone has an answer.
Jeff

Date: 02/10/20 16:05
Re: Decaling Issue - need Help
Author: PHall

Yes they can go bad. The Microscale solutions seem to have a "shelf life" of about 3 years.

Date: 02/10/20 16:28
Author: rnb3

Seems like I remember a while back that Microscale had a batch of decals with a manufacturing error. I'd give them a call or email. It doesn't sound like you have a setting solution problem, rather a decal film/adhesive problem.

Rick Bacon
Windsor, CO

Date: 02/10/20 16:47
Author: sixaxlecentury

I have had quite a number of Microscale decals fail out of the package, including brand new recent stuff.   Its almost as if there is no glue to them.  

Date: 02/10/20 18:24
Author: WrongWayMurphy

Decals should stick, setting solution or no.  They look much better with the solution applied, but should
stick regardless.  I think the decal is the problem, not the setting solution.

Date: 02/10/20 20:48
Author: turbine