Home Open Account Help 229 users online

Passenger Trains > Amtrak discounts for railroad employees?

Date: 09/17/06 14:24
Amtrak discounts for railroad employees?
Author: RS11

I'm an engineer for CSX. Does Amtrak give railroad employees discounts on travel? I'm going to call Amtrak, but was wondering if any of you have and reliable information or experiences about discounts. Thanks.

Date: 09/17/06 14:30
Re: Amtrak discounts for railroad employees?
Author: palmland

If you asked for it at the time, and were employed by a railroad prior to Amtrak you would receive a pass that provided discounts. I don't think anything is available for RR employees hired after 1971 but could be wrong.

Date: 09/17/06 15:55
Author: 1702

palmland Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> If you asked for it at the time, and were employed
> by a railroad prior to Amtrak you would receive a
> pass that provided discounts. I don't think
> anything is available for RR employees hired after
> 1971 but could be wrong.

When I hired out with Santa Fe in 1978, passes were still available with free coach travel on one's "home road" & discounted (50% IIRC)on other Amtrak routes. By the time I went over to the SP in 1981, all pass privileges had ceased for new-hire freight road employees.

The only passholders now are Amtrak employees & perhaps those freight road employees (& retirees) who had passes prior to the cutoff date. Otherwise, no discounts are available to railroad employees that are not available to the public.

Date: 09/17/06 18:57
Author: SanJoaquinEngr

I hired out before 1971 and get free travel on my home road SP and i guess now includes the UP since the merger (not sure).. any other road i get a 50 percent discount...

Date: 09/17/06 19:16
Author: ButteStBrakeman

SanJoaquinEngr Wrote:
> I hired out before 1971 and get free travel on my
> home road SP and i guess now includes the UP since
> the merger (not sure).. any other road i get a 50